Leader :: Tom Field    Conductor :: Maurice Powell  Patron:: Charles Guard

View My Stats

Gala Charity Concert

Sat 21st November 2015

Villa Marina

In Aid of Crossroads Young Carers

With soloists

Olga Eggert

Karen Elliott

Some of the Young carers who helped us out on the night, selling programmes and being the cannon in the 1812!

For our Gala ‘Spectacular’ 2015 we took on a tough programme of music. Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture was a challenge both technically and physically but very enjoyable and an opportunity for us to play a piece not usually undertaken by such a relatively small orchestra. As always we rose to the challenge and pulled off a performance which delighted the audience and did justice to our abilities.

With Grieg’s piano concerto, soloist Olga Eggert, it was a thrill to undertake  such a well known and ability stretching piece. It is with great thanks to Olga Eggert’s expertise that we were able to produce a memorable and moving performance.

Karen Elliott joined us to sing ‘Dove sono’ from ‘The Marriage of Figaro’ - Mozart, amongst others and was as always one of the many highlights of the the evening. We thank both our soloists and guest players for joining us to make this event spectacular and help us raise funds for such a worthy cause.

Our chosen charity for this years concert was the Crossroads Young Carers’ Project.

Est. in 1988 Crossroads Care is the leading provider of practical support for carers living in the Isle of Man.

Young Carers hold fortnightly sessions to give children who are caring for a parent or sibling, often as a primary carer, some space and time to be themselves. Activity trips on and off island and work in schools underpin this valuable scheme.

Concert Programme

Manx National Anthem

Overture Roman Carnival, op. 9                                                                                              Berlioz

Allegro assai con fuoco - Andante sostenuto - Allegro vivace

‘Let the Bright Seraphim’ from ‘Samson’                                                                              Handel

Soprano : Karen Elliott

Piano Concerto in A minor, op. 16                                                                                               Grieg

1. Allegro molto moderato  2. Adagio  3. Allegro moderato molto e marcato

Piano :  Olga Eggert

‘Voi lo sapete’ from ‘Cavalleria Rusticana’                                                                         Mascagni

‘Dove sono’ from ‘The Marriage of Figaro’                                                                             Mozart

Soprano : Karen Elliott

Suite ‘Royal Castles’                                                                                                          Haydn Wood

1. March - Balmoral  2. Memories - Caernarvon  3.  A Gala night - Windsor Castle

Overture ‘The Year 1812’, op.49                                                                                      Tchaikovsky

Largo - Poco piu mosso- Andante - Allegro giusto - Largo - Allegro vivace

More concert pictures below